How to Improve Your Click Through Rate in Google Organic Search Results
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If you're getting good positions in the search results but not getting the kind of click-through rate you expect for your ranking, keep reading. This article will help you pinpoint why you aren't getting the results you think you should be, and show you what steps you need to take to fix the problem.
One of the misconceptions of search engine optimization involves relying on "search engine result positions" to drive traffic. Some SEO professionals are even proud to advertise themselves as having placed web sites in top positions for competitive and long tail phrases.
Well, that is good news. However, getting a top ranking position for those keywords is not the end of the story or a campaign. There is what we call the "%CTR" of key phrases from the Google search engine result.
Why is this important? If you manage to get some of those competitive and long tail keywords to the top of the search engine results, your SEO effort is worthless if your %CTR is close to zero.
For example, suppose a top ranking keyword is getting an average of 1000 impressions per day, but only a 1% CTR from search engine result. This translates to:
Organic visitors from search engine result = %CTR x 1000 = 1% x 1000 = 10 visitors per day!
What is worse is that if your conversion rate is as good as 2% (which might sound OK for most sites), your approximated monthly conversion is:
Conversion from organic search = Conversion rate% x Organic Visitors x 30
Conversion = 2% x 10 x 30 = 6
This means that even though your website is getting 1000 impressions per day (which is desirable) for a high ranking keyword, it is highly possible (as shown in the sample computation above) that you will STILL be making very few sales or conversions from it if the %CTR problem is not solved.
Background of the cause: Poor CTR from SERP
No matter how good is your website ranking or even your services, potential visitors coming from Google's search engine results will still ignore you if they are not clicking on search engine results that lead to your website.
Why? A very low CTR affects your traffic. Diagnosing the CTR (click through rate) problem is a bit tricky, and often is not straightforward. Instead, it needs to be investigated; there is some required data you will need to gather.
If your website is ranking at the top of the results or even ranking for many phrases (long tail terms), and is not getting the expected traffic, then suspect that a poor or low CTR from the search engine results is affecting the traffic.
One of the best sources of data for troubleshooting website performance issues (like low %CTR from search engine results) is Google Webmaster Tools.
It is highly important that you add and verify your website before you proceed to a technical analysis. If you need some details on how to add and verify your website in Google Webmaster Tools, the search engine provides a tutorial that is well worth reading.