AdSense banner location and CTR
The probability theory states, suppose there are “y” links in the web page, and there are “x” number of clickable banners. Then the probability of a banner being clicked is:
Probability = x/y
Of course, the only way to ensure 100% banner clicks in a web page is to replace all of the ordinary links on a web page with banners, WHICH IS NOT POSSIBLE according to Google’s AdSense policies.
According to the policy, you are allowed a maximum of three AdSense ads per page. Therefore, to maximize the clicks, you need to utilize the maximum three ads per page, if possible.
However, depending on your layout, using the maximum number of allowable ads might clutter a page. So you will need to add more content (500 words minimum per post), so that content will still receive more emphasis as opposed to the ads.
The purpose of adding substantial content is to let Google AdSense provide highly related ads with respect to your content. Of course, if your post contains a smaller amount of content, Google cannot properly provide targeted ads, which can affect your click through rate.
These things happen often, and no matter how many ads you put in the page, if they do not fit the content (i.e. they are not properly targeted), visitors to your website find the ads to be unrelated, and will not be interested in clicking on them.
With respect to SEO, adding substantial content is beneficial because it decreases the percent of similarity of each post, preventing possible duplicate content issues. Of course, the page looks more trusted and authoritative if it contains a substantial amount of original/quality content in the page.
The more content your site contains, the higher the amount of indexed content. This higher amount of indexed content will increase the chances of getting long tail traffic from search engines.
Please note that there is no perfect location for banners. It depends on your website layout and content structure. However, if you use blogging software that loads the content slowly (which you can’t correct), then the topmost portion will be shown to visitors first. Placing the ads in the header section can get you a higher number of clicks. This is particularly true if users lose patience in waiting for the page to completely load.
You should experiment a lot with making the AdSense color background consistent with the web page colors. Experimentation is necessary, as sometimes you can get a low number of clicks for AdSense banners consistent with background. But there are also times when the AdSense banners and web page colors match, and you can get high AdSense clicks.
It is recommended that you observe your results over a two-month period. For example, in the first month, use AdSense banners matched with your web site’s background color, and in the second month, use ads that contrast with it.
You can distribute the three AdSense banners with one in the header, one in the sidebar and one in the footer. Or you can put two in the header and one in the sidebar, as shown below (encircled in blue):
As a short guide, Google shows an example of how you can place some ads in the top and footer section of your website:
There may be times when, even if you have substantial and targeted page content, Google AdSense might display completely unrelated ads. This can affect your AdSense revenue, because even though you have optimal banner locations and substantial traffic from search engines, the AdSense income you earn will be limited due to irrelevant ads (visitors will not click irrelevant ads).
The good news is that these types of ads can be blocked or removed using your Google AdSense account. Let’s have an actual example:
The above website is a PHP development website, but there are two unrelated Google ads (Resin color developer and UK Hotel Consultancy). To block unrelated ads inside a Google AdSense account:
Step 1: Get the domain URL of the unrelated ads. Using your favorite browser (Firefox or Chrome Browser), mouse over and right click on the unrelated ads, and then click “Copy link address.”
Step 2: Open a notepad or any text editor. Paste the values in the text editor.
When pasted, your result should look something like this (line breaks added for easier visibility):
And for the other one:
Step 3: Get the domain URL of the two above ad examples, which are values of the adurl variable:
Step 4: Get the domain name of the two above domain name URLs:
First domain: ukhotelconsultancy.com
Second domain: sinoruifeng.net
Step 5: Log in to your Google AdSense account: http://www.google.com/adsense
Step 6: Go to “Google adsense Setup” -> “Competitive ad Filter” -> “AdSense for Content”
Step 7: Under “AdSense for Content filters,” copy and paste the two domains in the box.
Step 8: Click “Save Changes.”
It will take up to 20 minutes for Google to reflect the changes.
Note: if your website content is new, Google might need some time to understand your content. In this case, expect at the early stages that ads will not be that related. However, if the same ads are still appearing many months after, then consider blocking these ads if they are completely unrelated to your content.
Of course, with all of the techniques discussed, one of the fastest ways to increase Google AdSense revenue, especially if you are managing two or more blogs, is to examine your channel statistics.
The main objective of examining your channel statistics is to identify which websites you want to improve first, in terms of SEO and AdSense income aspects. Typically. if you are a solo blogger, you cannot solve all of the problems in all of your blogs at once. You need to set some priority, so that issues are more manageable in the future.
So how can you assess which blogs/websites you will prioritize first for SEO and AdSense improvement?
Step 1: Log in to your Google AdSense account. Then go to “Reports” -> “Overview.”
Step 2: Under AdSense for content, click “top channels.”
Step 3: Set the view to ”Since last payment.”
Step 3: Copy and paste the result to an Excel spreadsheet and remove all columns EXCEPT blog URL, “Page CTR” and “Page eCPM.”
For each blog/website, multiply “Page CTR” x “Page eCPM” x “1000.” For example, if you have a page CTR of 1.2% and Page eCPM of $3.2, then the result will be:
1.2% x 3.2 x 1000 = 38.4
Step 4: The one with the highest value of “Page CTR x Page eCPM x 1000″ is the best website to start AdSense and SEO improvement.
For example, in the screen shot below (not using exact data):
Blog #3 is the best blog to start improving first, because once improvement has been realized, it will become a primary contributor to the growth of your Google AdSense earnings.
However, Blog #4 can be also be prioritized, since the two results are pretty close. It all depends on your available resources (e.g time).